# Chapter - 07 Geography

## **Our Country-India**

- India is a country of vast geographical expanse.
- In the north, it is bound by the lofty Himalayas, the Arabian Sea in the west, the Bay of Bengal in the East and the Indian Ocean in the south.
- India has an area of 3.28 million sq km. The north-south stretch from Kashmir to Kanyakumari is about 3,200 km and the east-west extend from Arunanchal Pradesh to Kuchchh is about 2,900 km.
- It is the second most populous county of the world after China.

### • Locational Setting:

- (i) India is situated in the northern hemisphere.
- (ii) The Tropic of Cancer  $(23^{\circ}30'N)$  passes almost halfway through the country.
- (iii) From south to north, main land of India extends between  $8^{\circ}4'N$  and  $37^{\circ}6'N$  latitudes.
- (iv) From west to east, India extends between  $68^{\circ}7'E$  and  $97^{\circ}24'E$  longitudes.
- (v) The local time changes by four minutes for every one degree of longitudes. The sun rises two hours earlier in the east (Arunachal Pradesh) then in the west (Gujarat).
- (vi) The local time of longitude of 82°30'*E* has been taken as the Indian Standard time.

#### • India's: Neighbours and Administrative Divisions:

- (i) India shares its border with seven countries-Pakistan, China, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Maldives. Sri Lanka is separated from India by the Palk Strait.
- (ii) India is a vast country. For administrative purpose, the country is divided into 28 states and 7 Union Territories. New Delhi is the capital.
- (iii) Rajasthan is the largest state and Goa is the smallest and Goa is the smallest state in terms of area.

### • Physical Divisions

- (i) India is marked by a diversity of physical features such as mountains, plateaus, plains, coasts and islands.
- (ii) In the north are the Himalayas meaning the 'abode of snow'.
- (iii) The Himalayas are divided into three main parallel ranges-Great Himalayas or Himadri, the Middle Himalaya or Himachal and the Shiwalik.
- (iv) The Northern Indian Plains lie to the south of the Himalayas. They have alluvial deposits made by the Indus, the Ganga, the Brahmaputra and their tributaries.
- (v) In the western part of India is the Great Indian Desert.
- (vi) To the South of Northern Plains lies the Peninsular Plateau. It has the Aravalis, the Vindhyas, the Satpuras, the Narmada, the Tapi, the Western Ghats and the Eastern Ghats.
- (vii) West of Western Ghats and East of Eastern Ghats lie the coastal plains. The eastern coastal plains and the western coastal plains are located here.
- (viii) The Sunderban delta is formed where the Ganga and Brahamaputra flow into the Bay of Bengal.
- (ix) Two group of Islands also form part of India. One is the Lakshdweep Island in the Arabian sea and the Andaman and Nicobar Islands in the Bay of Bengal.